Cramming for Thanksgiving: What should I do?

Cramming for Thanksging: What should I do?

Hey it’s Friday! I love Fridays. It’s for the reason I love weekends,but this Friday is different and the next after this. It’s my hubby’s vacation again. Of course, you know that I am always excited for that. We get to do more fun stuff or more house chores? Either way, its still fun. ye hey! Also, Thanksgiving is on one week. Are you ready for it? I am so glad to know that. To be honest, I only have one plan and that is to fry a big oh turkey. As I keep on thinking about frying the turkey, it occurs to my mind ” Hey! What’s for side items? What should I cook beside that?” We had a dinner with my mother-in-law last Tuesday. I love gatherings. I love parties and I love doing all the preparations, setting up and cooking for everyone. Everything shouldn’t be a problem, but the thought came to my mind. Thanksgiving is for Americans. They probably expect a more American menu. So, I asked my mother-in-law of some recipes that will save my Thanksgiving cramming in here. Though, the thought of hubby’s vacation made me have a holiday mode. That is to be happy go lucky and not think anything. I can’t help it. You know parties are the responsibility of a woman. The cooking, the taste of your food, the preparation and all that. It’s all me. Hubby will just be the assistant. As he said, “Honey I never cook anything on Thanksgiving. I always go to my mom’s house. She prepares everything.” Once agian, back to the woman’s responsibility. My mother-in-law was always the one who cook for everything for the past 2 years that I’ve been here. I didn’t even remember any of the food she made now. Well, the sweet potato with pecans on it was my favorite and the turkey. Other than that was all blank. What else should you have in your menu? She mentioned a lot of food that is a must have in the Thanksgiving table. She was in a hurry though and didn’t get enough time to discuss to me on what to do for this occasion. All I know is there should be a turkey and gathering. I’ve done some research. I thought each of these menu are easy to make and I can handle doing it myself. I probably should wake up very early and prepare everything. I am not sure though if everyone will like it, but hey! It’s my very first Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, my mother-in-law wouldn’t be able to help me. She needs to work even for this holiday. Well I guess I can do this, right? How about you? what are you menus every Thanksgiving? Share it with me. That will really give me some more ideas on what to do. I am excited at the same time, I am nervous. Oh well! Life isn’t perfect. I just want to see some parteeeey. Here are the food that I thought could rescue my Thanksgiving menu:

  1. Fried Turkey
  2. Sweet Potato-Pecan Casserole
  3. Gravy
  4. Biscuits
  5. Cornbread
  6. Potato Salad
  7. Please tell me more —–
  8. Turkey Dinner Menu Ideas – but I honestly have no idea which one should I make

I have such a short list. I am not really sure what else. I hope you could help me. Yes! This is a call for rescue me here. Comment your suggestions below and I would appreciate it a whole  lot. lol..

Thank you for reading and come back for more 🙂

A

5 thoughts on “Cramming for Thanksgiving: What should I do?

  1. I can relate to that lol.coz we hosted the thanksgiving last year for the very first time.
    i cooked alot i got up like 3am started cooking and finished around 4 in the afternoon..wooo alot of work to do lol but i made it..phew!

    Suggestion:
    mac and cheese
    pumpkin pie
    stuffing
    buttery mashed potatoes
    Ham
    deviled eggs
    chicken bbq drums stick

      • LoL I have too,coz i have to prepare everything all by myself .plus they ask me to make some filipino food like Lumpia,bola-bola and giniling u know it take alot of effort to make the lumpia coz u have wrap it then deep fry it..

Leave a Reply

