Rice Pilaf Alternative Recipe

Rice Pilaf Alternative RecipeWho here doesn’t love the Rice Pilaf at the fancy restaurant? A couple of months of my first arrival in United States of America was a struggle. Most especially when it comes to food. You know that already. I thought that none of the restaurants will ever serve me rice just like the one we have at home. Yes! They don’t serve white rice with your juicy baby back ribs, tender fried chicken or the ever so tasty lemon pepper fish. I didn’t actually know about this option. Duh.. why didn’t I know that? Well, I do look at the menu, but it is my husband who always place the order for me. Until one day, I spoke up. I can’t take it anymore!  I need some more carbs in my system and that is to eat some rice. So then they told me about this Rice Pilaf. Oh, you should have seen the look on face when I first known about this. Yep! I got a Yeeeeeeeesssss look! It taste nasty to me at first. Butter on rice? Who does that? However, I remember fried rice back in the Philippines or shall I say Margarine Rice. I am sorry if it’s not the right name. Not really sure what’s the name. Besides that, the whole concept was it has some more of yummy delicious finger licking fats like margarine and butter. I slowly learned to love the taste of this. The rice has it’s very tangy at the same time a little salty yet sweet taste. Well, I can’t explain much of this. You just gotta try it. I love it so much that I wanted recreate it. I love to have variety of side menus whenever I serve my special plates for my husband. He is not really a rice person. He is more into Fries, Onion Rings and Grilled Potatoes. Typical American sides while me? I always go for the rice. A food is not complete without any of that. I am sure you are not surprise at all!

Ingredients:

1 cup of white long grain Rice

2tbsp. of Butter

2 cups of Broth

1 stick of Celery ( sliced into pieces )

1/2 cup of chopped White Onion

1 tsp of chopped Parsley ( Fresh or Dry ) Preferably Fresh

1/2 tsp of Salt

1/2 tsp of Black Pepper

 

Instructions:

1. Heat up your deep sauce pan in a medium low heat.

2. Melt the butter until its bubbly then, saute the White Onion and Celery for at least 1 minute.

3. Mixed in the long grain white rice. Stir until it is fully coated of butter.

4. Pour in the Broth and simmer for about 7minutes until the rice absorbed the liquid well.

5. Sprinkle the Chopped Parsley, Salt and Pepper and mixed well with the moist rice.

6. Cover and turn the heat to low settings for about 2minutes.

7. Then, you are ready to serve!

 

This specific recipe is not 100% the same as the Rice Pilaf they have at the store. Definitely, an alternative to it since it almost have the same taste to that. I love this especially when I just want something different beside eating my white rice. Ofcourse! My husband loves the taste of it. As a matter of fact, he ate a good amount of rice the last time I cooked it. I sometimes mix it with different vegetables as well. But you know this time, let’s start at the basic! I hope you guys love this as well and if you make some, comment me the link of your photo perhaps comment how you made yours 🙂

Thank you for stopping by!

A

Leave a Reply

